The Most Interesting Person in the World

Anniversary! (x2)

Posted on: March 9, 2011

It is now two full years since Monday, March 9, 2009, the day of my first weekly Monday-night improv class, and to celebrate, I am plagiarizing from my blog posting one year ago (https://laurenbstein.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/anniversary/). On that day, I decided to look back at my schedule and see what I was up to the year before. Today, I would like to look back and compare, but instead of comparing activities, I will compare goals.

On this day last year, I dreamed:

  • Of moving into my own place, where I can freely host overnight guests, start an improv troupe, host Friday-night dinners, teach improv classes, and throw parties. I do have my own place, and I am doing some of those things, as well as others I hadn’t even thought of yet…
  • I would write a blog entry every day, such as making up stories from a picture, summarising plays, writing 55-word stories, personifying the characters in a math equation, and writing lists. Today, I don’t blog every day, but I sometimes write recipes (http://thelaurentinacookbook.wordpress.com/), and I dream of reviewing restaurants, publishing my own book, and performing more original work at my bi-weekly variety show.
  • I could be financially stable, what with my million-dollar empire teaching improv workshops, drop-in classes, and hosting birthday and office parties. Since then, I have taken on a job as a walking tour guide, and recently got another job as a conversation partner to international students learning English. As for my empire? Still growing, still slowly.
  • I was struggling constantly with religion and religiosity. Nowadays it’s something I still explore, reading about and talking to people about it, but nothing I pressure myself about. And I am so excited for Passover! (Sorry Purim, I know you’re around the corner and at least as much fun… but Passover is so much specialer.)
  • That one day I would travel for a month to New Zealand and to Papua New Guinea. Haven’t been to either place yet, but a shorter stay in Argentina is around the corner, and Janet and I will visit Australia together before we’re 30.

Now it’s your turn. What were your goals this time last year? How do they stand now, and what are your goals for next year?

3 Responses to "Anniversary! (x2)"

Last year my main goals were “Find Job” and “Avoid Cornwall”

I managed to achieve one only by failing at the other. -_-”

Oh well, with any luck, that will be rectified soon enough.

I too struggled with my religious stance. Coming from a secular family, I was moved by the obvious balanced lifestyles and appropriate behaviours of people like John Travolta and Tom Cruise. So I joined Scientology. Well, when I learned their “G*d” was actually a science fiction writer gone missing, that ended that.

From their I entered the priesthood and lived in a seminary. Boy, what an appropriate name for a place. After my 4th date with one of the head nuns, I realized that was also not the place for me.

Then one day, I was wandering down Yonge street…and glanced into a coffee shop. I saw a large crowd apparently following the stange ministrations of a young woman. Curious, I went in and observed. I learned they were participating in the ritual lifestyle of The Temple of Improvisation. It was so open, so inviting, so fun… philosophies that are easy to understand and not hypocritical. And then I met the high priestess – Laurentina… I was hooked and am now proud to say I am Improvisationish.

Before you reach for your goals, set some. Then reach, reach and reach again.

On this day last year I was writing a post on your blog, studying for an international law exam, planning logistics for a conference at the Munk School, and licking a habanero pepper.

I think my goal at the time was to get through the semester at school. I suppose my goals now all seem to involve doing interesting things that don’t make the world a worse place.

Leave a Reply

Categories

