The Most Interesting Person in the World

I do! I do! I do, I do!

Posted on: July 10, 2010

This year, I saw 8 productions at the Toronto Fringe Festival, and the one that stood out most, as it happens, is the only one I had no personal connection to. Well… except that the character on stage was, essentially, me.

Let me explain. In short, the character on stage marries herself. Now you know why she’s just like me.

Normally in a one-person show, there’s a certain way the performer holds herself, a certain fineness of speech, a fake way of being, that I have come to expect. The heroine of ONEymoon started that way, but then, just before I could brace myself for the typical, she grabbed a mic and started hip-hopping. In her wedding dress. I couldn’t hear everything she was singing, and I’m not normally a fan of hip-hop (or wedding dresses), but it was awesome! The images clashed so well together.

What I like best about this play is how much fun she was having. Here is a woman with a dream: She wants to marry herself–and really, who doesn’t? Not only does she take that dream and think about it, not only could she take herself up some mountain and hold a private ceremony like someone I read about in California, but she buys a dress (or gets sponsored, maybe), and puts together a chance to repeat her ceremony night after night, with an audience full of people who pay money to see it. Brilliant!

Even once I get beyond the concept, the show was well-executed. Full of audience interaction, including getting two “members of the bridal party” up on stage to read their “pre-written” speeches to her. Trained as a dancer, she threw in a little tap dance for our benefit. It’s clear from her physicality (not to mention the program) that she’s had training as a clown, which is a huge benefit to anything, ever. She even speaks some Dutch, with no explanations, no apologies, just because she can.

The biggest thing for me watching was just how much she enjoyed herself. This is obviously someone who loves the idea of getting to wear a wedding dress, and so she has this excuse to wear one every show, and she milks the feeling for all it’s worth. When she talks about marrying herself, she lights up. And at the end, when she throws the bouquet, blessing whoever catches it with the bliss she’s found to be happily commited to herself forever… for the first time at any wedding, I wanted to catch it.

Leave a Reply

