The Most Interesting Person in the World

Stuff and the Stuffiness of it all

Posted on: June 14, 2010

Stuff. There’s so much of it. It’s weighing me down.

Without it, I could have probably moved into my own tiny bedroom by now. I would really love to follow Gandhi’s advice and only own enough that could fit into one suitcase. Alas, I am a packrat, and I can’t bear to see perfectly good, no-longer-useful stuff go to waste.

I just saw a video that validated my entire existence. It is the story of stuff, and it can be found on this website.

It comes at a perfect time: Tonight’s improv class is followed by a Free Stuff Swap, in which we skip the Extraction, Production, and Distribution stages to get straight to Consumption (of something someone else no longer uses) and proper disposal (of something you keep around just because you don’t want it to go to waste. Or, at least, that’s why I keep things around.)

Anyway, tonight I plan to bring a box of stuff, including a bag of stuffed animals. So bring your old CDs, DVDs, books, and grunge sweaters, and I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

Categories

