The Most Interesting Person in the World

What would happen if amnesiacs formed a support group?

Posted on: April 27, 2010

“I… I guess I’ll go first,” pipes in the average-height guy wearing a blue shirt in a nondescript segment of the circle. “Hi, my name is… I forget, and I’m an amnesiac.”

“Hi, amnesiac,” murmurs the crowd.

“I guess I should start at the beginning. I mean, how I got to be this way. Only I can’t tell you that story, because, unfortunately, I can’t remember it.”

“It’s okay,” says the woman positing herself as the leader. “This is a safe space. If it comes back to you, you can share it with us.”

“I guess the scariest part for me,” says a stubbled man caressing a stress ball, “is the possibility that I can be someone I don’t want to be. Like I could have a seemingly boring life, but really I’m a serial killer, and I kept it so well-hidden that I’ll never know.

“Or even worse,” he continues, “I can just have a boring life.”

“That is pretty bad,” mumbles an obese woman in a dress, more to herself than anyone else.

Leave a Reply

Categories

