The Most Interesting Person in the World

Timmy Birds

Posted on: January 29, 2010

The birds, the birds,
The  sky is full of timmy birds
They circle round, that special way
That only timmy birds fly; they say,
“Oh no! Not I! I’m afraid of verse!”
You’ll hear them cry, a little hoarse:
“I’m too ashamed! They’ll see me fail!”
But don’t they realise a snail
Even can move slowly, to show a point –
It’s okay not to be perfect. In fact, it won’t
Slow you in your career or fate
It only shows…

It’s better to do a job less than perfect
Than none at all.
So fear not to perform, whether alone or in front of a thousand.
We all fail here and there
– Hopefully not go “Splat!” on the ground like a fallen timmy bird –
But recover, move on, look around, and think:
“Hm. Now I know how everyone else feels!”

3 Responses to "Timmy Birds"

That is so nice! & so good!!

I like the poem. So often we stop ourselves from necessary attempts for fear of failure. Most of the time, we have something to gain from the experience. Knowing what doesn’t work is just as important as knowing what does. Good poem. 🙂

Since you seem to know so much about birds, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on choo-choo birds. Maybe some links to audio clips of the sounds they make…

Thanks Matt! I’m so glad you found out about my blog.

I like your insight into the poem, Adam. I was afraid somebody would respond, “You are hitting me on the head with the blunt object of your moral, Lauren! Stop writing like this.” But your response is much more pleasant! (Not that I should worry so much about disapproval over a poem I wrote about not worrying about disapproval… Oh, the irony!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

