The Most Interesting Person in the World

Welcome to Lauren-Land

Posted on: January 20, 2010

Have you ever been asked to summarize your essence or your life experience on a form, in an essay question, in a small box, or in a string of characters without spaces?

If you’re living in the 21st century, and chances are that you are, the answer is invariably yes.

This leads us to today. Lauren Stein decides to embark on an adventure of the online kind (our final frontier). Finding her name and most variants of it unavailable, she adds her middle initial just to give that hoo-ha! crunch.

But now to defeat its own purpose: Lauren Stein is trying to look professional. She can do professional, oh yes, she can show up on time and do a good job and make sure everyone’s happy and clean up the place before she goes. But it’s when you say, “You’re funny; here’s a mike/keyboard. Go to it!” that things get… Well, usually she’s still funny. Let’s put it more succinctly.

I’m 25 years old. I grew up with the Internet. I write every day, I’ve been published a few times, and I’ve always wanted to be a writer. Yet I have never owned a blog. Why do you think that is?

Why is it that I’m significantly more nervous right now than if you pushed me onto a stage in front of 1000 people and asked me to speak?

Leave a Reply

Categories

